Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
 How to Practice Sundo < back 

1. Programs in Sundo.

Sundo program is consisted of Pre-Haenggong, Haenggong and Post-Haenggong program. Main program is Haenggong, and the beginner starts from Ipmoon (Entry) level first, and then move on to Choonggi level, Kungon level, and Wongi level. Besides, there are External power training program and other misc aux programs.

The main part of Sundo program is Haenggong. To practice Haenggong, you should practice Pre-Haenggong first, to massage whole body to improve blood circulation. If you don't do Post-Haenggong after Haenggong, then the energy created through Haenggong postures will not be distributed to all place of whole body. Therefore, it is required to practice the whole program once a day.

2. Practicing time

It takes 80 minutes to practice standard Sundo, but if you don't have enough time, then you may try a 20 or 40 minute program. It is better to do a short program than stopping during 80 minute program in the middle, or hurrying to finish it.

3. Basic postures.

It starts from standing postures, then sitting down postures, then lying down postures, and then ends with standing postures and sitting down postures.

4. The way to breathe

Refer to the previous explanation.

5. Important points while doing the standing postures.

Stand straight, place 2 feet in parallel at shoulder width, and stand firmly on feet.

5. Breathing in the practicing.

Except a few postures with only breathing practice without other movements, all other postures of the programs, should do as below:

Breathe first and hold it, keeping the pressure in the lower abdomen continue the posture, and exhale at the end of the posture. This helps especially when doing difficult postures and also when lifting heavy objects. Actually, we naturally often do this when we lift a heavy one as a reflex.

6. Advanced breathing.

At Choonggi level, unless you have difficulties, you will increase the breathing interval from 4 counts to 8 counts, inhaling for 6 counts, holding breath for 2 counts, and then exhaling for 8 counts. To do 8 counts breathing smoothly, you need to calm down your mind first.

( But be careful. If breathing 8 counts is difficult or uncomfortable for you, then don't try to do it forcefully. It may hurt you. You can practice 4 counts first. Sooner or later, you can do the 8 counts breathing with practice. At any point, when you feel uncomfortable to do 8 counts, then go back to 4 counts. Safety is always the first. )

By doing so, it slows your metabolism, because your mind and body quieter and calmer requiring less oxygen . So less reactive Oxygen is made, it is better for your health. You will practice to keep increasing the interval of breathing, as you go to Kungon and Wongi level. 

© Copyright 2010 - 2024 All rights reserved.